CE Requirements

36-hour CE Requirement

As of January 1, 2017, all active and inactive associate brokers and qualifying brokers shall successfully complete thirty-six (36) credit hours of continuing education in courses approved by the New Mexico Real Estate Commission during each 3-year licensing cycle. Click here for the    List of Approved Courses.

Except for brokers who are exempt from continuing education by virtue of having attained 65 years of age and a minimum of 20 years of continuous licensure prior to July 1, 2011;

A. All active and inactive associate brokers and qualifying brokers shall successfully complete a minimum of 36 credit hours of continuing education in courses approved by the commission during each licensing cycle.

B. Required courses include the four-hour NMREC Core Course to be completed annually; a four-hour commission-approved Core Elective Course (8 hours for QB’s) to be completed once during each three-year licensing, and four hours of commission-approved Ethics courses to be completed during each three-year licensing cycle.

 *Note: Every two (2) years, all existing, or active REALTOR® members (which includes Appraisers) must complete a refresher training on the Code of Ethics as a requirement of continued membership. This training for existing members must also meet the learning objectives and time requirements established by the National Association of REALTORS® and be approved by GAAR. The current two-year period began January 1, 2019 and will end on December 31, 2020.  NAR refers to this period as Cycle 6. For the list of ethics courses that meet this requirement, Click Here. REALTOR® Emeritus members are exempt from this requirement.

C. Of the remaining 16 credit hours (12 for QB’s), no more than 10 credit hours may be earned toward the continuing education requirement from commission-approved training category courses. All 16 remaining credit hours (12 for QB’s), may be earned toward the continuing education requirement from commission-approved education category courses.

D. The NMREC core course requirements shall apply to those who have not completed the eight-hour mandatory course in their current licensing cycle by December 31, 2016. If a broker has completed the eight-hour mandatory course, the NMREC core course requirement will not apply until their next licensing cycle. Brokers who have completed the eight-hour mandatory course in their current licensing cycle and who wish to take the NMREC core course will receive four additional hours of education category credit in their current licensing cycle.

E. Qualifying brokers shall attend at least one New Mexico real estate commission meeting, rule hearing, or disciplinary hearing for at least three hours, or until the commission goes into executive session, or the hearing/meeting ends, whichever comes first, in each three three-year licensing cycle.

F. Qualifying Brokers are required to successfully complete a six (6) hour qualifying broker refresher course as a condition of license renewal or as a condition of reinstatement of qualifying broker status regardless of age or years of licensure. 

Training Hours vs. Education Hours

A. An approved education category course shall consist of a course offered by a commission approved sponsor in real estate law and practice; real estate financing including mortgages and other financing techniques; material specific to the regulatory, and ethical practice of real estate; and real estate related local, state and federal laws including but not limited to fair housing, the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), and lead-based paint disclosure.

B. Approved training category courses include personal and property protection for the broker and clients; using the computer, the internet, business calculators and other technologies to enhance the broker’s service to the public; concerning professional development, customer relations skills, sales promotion including salesmanship, negotiation, marketing techniques, servicing the client, or similar courses.

Property Management

A. Qualifying brokers and associate brokers who offer or intend to offer property management services for others, shall as a condition of offering property management services, first complete the commission approved course, Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act prior to offering such services, and in every subsequent three-year licensing cycle.

B. Associate brokers who offer or intend to offer property management services are also required to complete a minimum of six hours of approved continuing education courses in property management during each three-year licensing cycle.

C. Qualifying brokers who offer or intend to offer property management services are also required to complete a minimum of 12 hours of approved continuing education courses in property management during each three-year licensing cycle.

D. Qualifying brokers and associate brokers shall attend at least one New Mexico real estate commission meeting, rule hearing, or disciplinary hearing for at least three hours, or until the commission goes into executive session, or the hearing/meeting ends, whichever comes first, in each three three-year licensing cycle.