RECPAC Interviews Candidates for Endorsements

The June primary elections have narrowed the field of candidates down to a race between parties and the Real Estate Community Political Action Committee (RECPAC) has been busy interviewing candidates. As advocates for REALTORS® we are not concerned about party affiliation but instead focus on finding REALTOR® Champions who will make themselves available to work with us to preserve property rights and promote homeownership. We call this the REALTOR® Party. 

RECPAC trustees choose these REALTOR® Champions based on some very simple criteria: First they must be electable, and incumbents usually have a distinct advantage here. Second, they must be willing to help support and preserve private property rights. Additionally, they must be available to discuss issues that may be of concern to the Real Estate industry.

Oh yes, there is the issue of money. The contributions REALTORS® make to the REALTOR® Party are made available through the REALTORS® Association of New Mexico (RANM), to contribute to candidates who have met these criteria.

The NM Senate is not up for re-election this cycle. Here is a list of RECPAC endorsed candidates and the offices they seek:

NM House of Representatives

Name                                    District

Kelly Fajardo (R)                      7

Alonzo Baldonado (R)             8

G. Andres Romero (D)           10

Javier Martinez (D)                11

Patricio Ruiloba (D)               12

Brad Winter (R)*                    15

Antonio “Mo” Maestas (D)   16

Deborah Armstrong (D)       17

Gail Chasey (D)                     18

Gregg Schmedes (R)*           22

Daymon Ely (D)                    23

Jimmie Hall (R)                     28

David Adkins (R)                  29

John Jones (R)*                   30

William “Bill” Rehm (R)       31

Jane Powdrell-Culbert (R)  44

Gail Armstrong (R)              49

Jason Harper (R)                 57

Tim Lewis (R)                     60

Bernalillo County

James Smith (R)                  Commission Dist 5

Tanya Gidding (D)               Assessor

Sandoval County

Kathleen Colley (DTS)        Commission Dist 3

Christie Humphrey (R)       Assessor

*Pending RANM Approval

Congratulations to the candidates who’ve earned the faith and confidence of the REALTOR® community.  Good luck in the General Election.