Recap of the 96th Annual GAAR Awards Gala

On Friday, March 3rd GAAR held its Annual Awards Gala which recognizes excellence in the industry over the past year.

Over 260 GAAR REALTORS, Affiliates and friends of the industry were in attendance at the Albuquerque Museum. Attendees enjoyed a night of socializing, music and celebration. Proceeds from the event will be going towards the REALTOR® Fund of GAAR.

Award Recipients

REALTOR® of the Year

Janie Gilmore-Daniels, Vista Encantada Realtors, LLC

2016 REALTOR® of the Year, Janie Gilmore-Daniels

C.O. Nelson Award

Ida Kelly, Ida Kelly Realtors

Ida Kelly

Salesperson of the Year

Danny Wm. Vigil, Colwell Banker Legacy

Danny Wm. Vigil, Salesperson of the Year

Rookies of the Year

Jessica Kirker, ERA Sellers & Buyers Real Estate (right)
Meghan Tate, Coldwell Banker Legacy (left)

Jessica Kirker and Meghan Tate

Achievements in production $2 million and above were also celebrated.  Congratulations to all those who  reached this significant achievement. Click here to download a list of the production acheivement recipients.

Members wanting a physical copy of their production certificate can request one by e-mailing

In addition to the main awards categories, a Special Appreciation Award was given to former GAAR EVP Janice McCrary for her years of dedication and service to the Association.

The Gala also hosted a graduation ceremony for this year’s Leadership Development Program (LDP). The 5-week program is designed to encourage and develop future leaders in our industry and community at all levels.

LDP Class of 2017

LDP Class of 2017

  • Mindy Abramson
  • Naomi Apodaca
  • Susan Blackwell
  • Gary Boyd
  • Charlotte Boyer
  • Steve Cecco
  •  Joseph Chacon
  • Jenn Cody
  • Lisa Donoghue
  • Deborah Duran
  • Belinda Franco
  • Gilbert Gallegos
  • Gilbert V Guaderrama
  • Paul Holley
  • Trish Homburg
  • Eleanor Hutt
  • Nancy Kennedy
  • Sarah Lopez
  • John Lucero
  • Lori Muller
  • Ben Nolte
  • Julianne Powers
  • Chris Prien
  • Minnie Rivas
  • Lindsay Schwebke
  • Joseph Van Zandt

Thank you to our Sponsors

A special thank you to those that sponsored this year's event.

Platinum Sponsors

  • First Mortgage Company
  • Legacy Mortgage

Gold Sponsors

  • Bank of Albuquerque Mortgage
  • Keller Williams
  • Nusenda Credit Union
  • Pinnacle Capital Mortgage
  • Pop-a-Lock

Silver Sponsors

  • GAAR Affiliate Members
  • ERA Sellers & Buyers Real Estate
  • Fidelity National Title
  • HomeBridge Financial Services
  • Kirtland Federal Credit Union
  • Prime Lending
  • Realty One of New Mexico
  • Sandia Laboratory Federal Credit Union
  • Supra

Bronze Sponsor

  • Old Republic Title

Supporting Sponsors

  • The Maez Group
  • Realty one of New Mexico - Belinda Franco

Photos of the event are available on our Facebook page.

Miss the event?

If you were unable to attend the Gala this year, a video recording of the awards ceromony is now on our YouTube: